Tres Leches w/ Sopapilla & Strawberry Garnish

IMG_3267.JPG

I like to think that I am Spanish. But my sisters remind me that I really can’t claim any heritage over another because we are such a hodgepodge.

I, however, like to think that “hodgepodge” means I can choose whatever I want.

It’s still being debated.

Growing up predominately in the southern states in America, I have had the blessed privilege of Central & South American cuisines.

Best food ever… At least, that’s how I feel in this moment.

My favourite desserts are puddings, cinnamon-sugary anythings, & fruit desserts (especially my mother’s apple pie).

My boss in Houston is the one that got me hooked onto Tres Leches. I had never had it at home & I quickly fell in love.

What did I do all my life BTL (“Before Tres Leches”)??

Then one day it occurred to me: Why not combine all of my favourites??? Pudding. Cinnamon sugar. Fruit.

That’s just what I did.

If you’re not familiar with Pioneer Woman, then you must stop what you’re doing & go to her blog! She is one of my culinary heroes & I have yet to discover a recipe of hers that I do not like.

She also lives my wildest dream: a creative diva-chef-housewife-entrepreneur-mother helping her rancher cowboy husband.

One must have a lot of stamina & a passion for what they are doing to accomplish what she does.

… I googled & compared different recipes. (Of course I chose hers.) Then I took my quick & easy Sopapilla chips recipe. And then I chose as my contrasting garnish: Strawberries.

The fruit garnish is where PW & I part ways. I’m not a fan of cherries.

Step 1: Follow PW’s Tres Leches Recipe

Step 2:

• 4 lg white tortillas
• c. 1/2 C Cinnamon-Sugar mix
• Coconut Oil

~ Preheat oven to 350 F OR 180 C.

~ Slice tortillas into 5ths.

~ Brush both sides of tortilla slices with Coconut oil.

~ Press both sides of coated tortilla slices on a plate of Cinnamon-Sugar.

~ Place on a cookie sheet & bake for 10-15min or until golden brown.

~ Remove from oven & immediately place into a bowl to cool.

~ Rinse & slice strawberries (I use whole strawberries because I LOVE the taste; but this is at the discretion of the chef).

~ Cut & serve your completed & chilled Tres Leches. Garnish with strawberries & place one Sopapilla chip per serving.

Bon appetit!

“Whip it. Whip it good.”

2 thoughts on “Tres Leches w/ Sopapilla & Strawberry Garnish

  1. Hi Caelyn! I just wanted to tell you that my eyes (and of course, my mouth) were watering the first and second time I read this post 🙂 I had to reread it to make sure it was real because I LOVE all of the things you put in there 😀 It looks gorgeous and I bet it tastes gorgeous, too! So, when we get together sometime in the future, you will have to teach me how to make this! 🙂 Love, Sarah

    Like

    • Sarah!!!!! It just blesses my socks off that you would take the time to read AND comment. Thank you, my dear!! We will definitely have to have some bake days & I would be more than happy to!

      Now that I think about it… Didn’t you & Hannah bring one to our house? I really think yours was the second Tres Leches I’d had.

      Love you & miss you!! Xoxo

      Like

Leave a comment