Top of the Morning || Eggs

IMG_4648.JPG

“Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.”

We’ve all heard it & some of you might even be singing the song from Sesame Street.

I love that song.

I am passionate about breakfast & bless our adoptive “Israeli grandfather” who told me when I was a girl:

“Breakfast like a King. Lunch like a Prince. & dinner like a pauper.”

I won’t argue with that one.

Yet, I am so shocked by how many people utterly disregard & skip breakfast & somehow function throughout the day.

I am a zombie if I don’t eat breakfast. Completely worthless.

Some of my siblings are pounds of syrup on bread breakfast eaters. Others are Greek Salad for breakfast eaters.

As for me, I love eggs. No. I NEED eggs.

I was once told that eggs help optimise brain function throughout the day. They’re also an excellent source of protein.

And they’re divine in Benedict form.

Here are some of my favourites. (Do excuse the various edits since they were taken on various cameras.)

IMG_2839.JPG

This is from my favourite restaurant in Pretoria: Cafè Berytz. They are the first to get me to eat & enjoy Macadamia nuts, which they sautéed & seasoned to perfection. Those nuts complimented the Benedict adding a lovely smoked flavour to finish off the mouth-watering blend of ciabatta, arugula OR “rocket”, bacon, & their creamy Hollandaise.

They are also the creators of a stellar Ostrich burger.

The next two Benedicts are from my favourite local Cafè, The Food Fundi.

IMG_3680.JPG

Behold… The Smoked Salmon Benedict.

&

IMG_4336.JPG

The Alternative.

My youngest sister turned me onto this hardy ensemble of health toast, roasted cherry tomatoes, Chorizo, poached eggs, cheese, avocado, & their special Balsamic reduction drizzle.

Superb.

But what about at home?

Sometimes we get fancy & use William-Sonoma’s Eggs Benedict Over Savoury Waffles recipe with Martha Stewart’s Hollandaise Sauce.

OR…

After a good leg workout & coming home famished with no patience for lengthy meal preparations but an insatiable craving for eggs Benedict…

I scramble 2-3 free range eggs with a sprinkling of salt & pepper, a tad of milk, some shredded Red Fox cheese & White Cheddar, & a few chunks of soft Goat cheese.

Then I mound that on a sautéed sweet potato round, OR toasted Rye, OR toasted health bread.

Of course, then you need a few avocado slices to garnish.

Healthful, right?? 😉

“Whip it. Whip it good.”

Leave a comment